Signature of an executive agreement between the MRSIT and IGN: the first step towards IGN Congo

Printer-friendly versionSend to friend

The MRSIT (Ministry of Scientific Research and Technological Innovation) in Congo and IGN, the French Institute for Geographic and Forestry Information, signed an executive collaboration contract on July 1st in Brazzaville

The  ceremony  was  presided  by  Minister  Bruno  Jean-Richard  ITOUA,  in  the  presence  of  his  Excellency Jean-Pierre  VIDON,  French  Ambassador  in  Congo  and  Jean-Philippe  GRELOT,  Deputy  Director  of  IGN France  and took place  at the Ministry with around fifty participants from numerous ministries (Mines, Public Works and Equipment, Land use planning, Agriculture, …).

In signing this Executive agreement, the two entities have  confirmed their interest in collaborating in the following areas:

  • Geodesy levelling and gravimetry, 
  • Aerial and spatial photography,
  • Digital photogrammetry and ortho-photography,
  • Teledetection,
  • Digital mapping, 
  • Geographical databases, geographical information systems (GIS),
  • Geographical information portals (data storage and diffusion),
  • Other applications using mapping tools or satellite location systems (GPS),
  • Training with technology transfer in the domains of geography and mapping.

The importance of IGN’s role was highlighted during this ceremony. As a public entity, IGN produces and diffuses  multi-themed  reference  systems  and  serves  as  a  baseline  for  geographical  and  forestry information. IGN also provides services on the use of this data. The  organisation  provides  indisputable  support  to  French  public  authorities  in  contributing  to  the knowledge of territories and their analysis.

This collaboration aims in particular to provide the Congo with a high-performance geographical institute to contribute to the country’s development. Jean-Philippe Grelot emphasised this point in his speech: « Dear  Minister,  you  have  shown  confidence  in  an  entity  that  has  always  been  devoted  to  sharing  its knowledge and skills  with  communities  beyond  the borders of France and in particular those in Frenchspeaking  countries.  You  would  like  to  associate  IGN  with  your  ambitious  objective  of  creating  a  wellfunctioning  national geographic institute in the Congo. This decision comes at a time when technologies are  evolving  fast,  creating  incredible  opportunities  for  organisations  whose  work  is  not  centred  on themselves but on their ability to support public policies. ».

The  Minister  also  said  that: « mapping  is  a  consensual  domain  that  should  enable  all  of  us  to  work together. We are expecting a lot out of this agreement which shall enable us to implement projects that will be both federal and innovative ».

IGN  France  International,  the  export  projects  entity  within  IGN,  in  association  with  the  consultancy Progresys SAS, shall be heading up the operational implementation of these projects. 

We  should  remind  you  that  IGN  France  International  has  already  worked  on  modernising  and rehabilitating  mapping  institutes  within  the  framework  of  several  previous  mapping  projects,  in particular those in Mali, Burkina Faso and Senegal.

The press release

References in cartography / NSDI

Signature à Brazzaville d'un accord-cadre entre le MRSIT et l'IGN : un premier pas vers l'IGN Congo

Version imprimableEnvoyer à un ami

Le MRSIT (Ministère de la Recherche Scientifique et de l’Innovation Technologique) du Congo et l’IGN, l’institut français de l’information géographique et forestière, ont signé mercredi 1er juillet à Brazzaville un accord-cadre de collaboration.

Cette cérémonie présidée par le Ministre Bruno Jean-Richard ITOUA, en présence de son Excellence Jean-Pierre VIDON, Ambassadeur de France au Congo et Jean-Philippe GRELOT, Directeur Général Adjoint d’IGN France, s’est tenue dans les locaux du Ministère devant une cinquantaine de participants, venus de nombreux ministères (Mines, Equipements et Travaux Publics, Aménagement du Territoire, Agriculture…).

Par cet accord-cadre, les deux entités ont ainsi acté leur souhait de collaborer dans les domaines suivants :

  • Géodésie, nivellement et gravimétrie,
  • Prises de vues aériennes et spatiales,
  • Photogrammétrie numérique et orthophotographie,
  • Télédétection,
  • Cartographie numérique,
  • Bases de données géographiques, systèmes d’information géographique (SIG),
  • Portails d’information géographique (stockage et diffusion des données),
  • Autres applications faisant appel aux outils cartographiques ou aux systèmes de localisation par
  • satellites (GPS),
  • Formation avec transfert de technologie dans les domaines géographiques et cartographiques.

A l’occasion de cette cérémonie, le rôle important de l’IGN a été rappelé. Etablissement public de référence pour l’information géographique et forestière en France, l’IGN est producteur et diffuseur de référentiels faisant autorité de données géographiques multithématiques. L’IGN fournit également des services d’utilisation des données. C’est un acteur incontournable qui intervient en appui des autorités publiques françaises pour contribuer à la connaissance des territoires et à leur analyse. 

Cette collaboration vise notamment à doter le Congo d’un institut géographique national performant, au service du développement économique du pays. Cela a été rappelé par Jean-Philippe Grelot au cours de son allocution : « Vous marquez, Monsieur le Ministre, votre confiance envers un organisme qui a toujours eu le souci de mettre ses connaissances et compétences au service d’une communauté plus large que la seule communauté française, avec une inclination particulière pour le monde de la francophonie. Vous souhaitez associer l’IGN à un objectif ambitieux, la mise en place d’un institut géographique national performant au Congo et ceci intervient à un moment où les technologies évoluent à grande vitesse, en créant des opportunités formidables pour des organismes dont la mission n’est pas centrée sur euxmêmes mais sur leur capacité à soutenir les politiques publiques ».

Dans son intervention, le Ministre a indiqué : « la cartographie est un domaine consensuel qui devrait permettre de mobiliser toutes les énergies. Nous attendons beaucoup de cet accord qui nous permettra de mettre en oeuvre des activités fédératrices et innovatrices ».

C’est IGN France International, l’opérateur pour l’export de l’IGN, en association avec le cabinet conseil Progresys SAS, qui sera en charge de la réalisation opérationnelle des projets.

On rappellera qu’IGN France International a déjà à plusieurs reprises dans le cadre de projets cartographiques précédents, modernisé et réhabilité des instituts cartographiques notamment au Mali,  au Burkina Faso, ou encore au Sénégal.

Le communqué de presse

Références en cartographie / INDG